Annual Lecture 2015: The Ugly Truth

by Tracey Brown, director of Sense About Science

Learn more


AllTrials launched in the US with 50 supporting organisations

Learn more

Plant Science Panel

Insecticides, biofuels, GMOs …

Learn more

Ask for Evidence

in policy, advertising, media and more ...

Learn more

The John Maddox Prize

Sir John Maddox

The John Maddox Prize for standing up for science rewards an individual who has promoted sound science and evidence on a matter of public interest. Its emphasis is on those who have faced difficulty or hostility in doing so. Nominations of active researchers who have yet to receive recognition for their public-interest work are particularly welcomed. 

Nominations for the 2015 John Maddox Prize have closed.

Nature                 Kohn Foundation


Sir John Maddox, whose name this prize commemorates, was a passionate and tireless champion and defender of science, engaging with difficult debates and inspiring others to do the same. As a writer and editor, he changed attitudes and perceptions, and strove for better understanding and appreciation of science throughout his long working life.

The judges recognise that 'standing up for science' is likely to be controversial in the eyes of some. The prize will be awarded for specific achievements, and the decision will be final and not open to appeal. The winner is chosen by the judging panel.                 

Sir Ralph Kohn

The prize is a joint initiative of Nature, where Sir John was editor for 22 years; the Kohn Foundation, whose founder Sir Ralph Kohn was a personal friend of Sir John's, particularly through their Fellowship of the Royal Society; and Sense About Science, where Sir John served as a trustee until his death in 2009. 

Sir Ralph Kohn


Previous Winners

The John Maddox Prize 2014

Dr Emily Willingham and Dr David Robert Grimes are the two winners of the 2014 John Maddox Prize for Standing up for Science.


Professor David Nutt

The John Maddox Prize 2013

The 2013 John Maddox Prize for Standing up for Science was awarded to Professor David Nutt. Read more about the winner and watch a short film profiling the winner.


2012 Maddox Prize winnersThe John Maddox Prize 2012

The 2012 John Maddox Prize was awarded to two individuals: Professor Simon Wessely and Fang Shi-min. Read more about the winners and watch a short film on the judges' deliberation for the John Maddox Prize 2012